2012 -Towards healing, peace, and wellness

2 Jan

This blog started because I started a running journey and I didn’t know how to start really so I just stretched out …and then I ran.

I was 111 days into my journey and on the way to my first 10K when my life changed.  And my reality became something unknown to me and there is no charted plan, no one “right” way to cope and to heal.  So I have decided to heal the one way I know and one day I will look back and say I was simply out of ideas but not giving up…and then I ran.

I am not running away from anything, not avoiding my life or my reality, but running towards something.  Towards healing, towards peace, towards wellness.  My half marathon goal was one that Glen was fully on board with.  I had already registered for the Disney Princess half in February and we had begun our plans to book the resort and lay out the trip.  And in true girly fashion, I had already bought Alana and I our Mickey running shirts and our princess crown headbands to wear that day. And they will not go to waste. My long term goal is still a half marathon at Disney. 

I have no doubt that as he was before, Glen is 100 % behind me continuing this journey and achieving my goal.  At this point for me, it’s not just about me anymore.  I feel excited for everyone who has seen me go through this part of my life to share in the joys and successes of my accomplishments because without all of you none of this would be happening.   All of you have been a more integral part of this than you will ever understand.

Okay, so obviously a half marathon is a LONG LONG term goal 🙂 so let me talk about short term goals.

Through the fabulous Jenn of Myfitness Motivation on facebook I have joined the 1212 Mile Running Club which has the goal of running 1212 miles in 2012.  1212 miles in 2012 is not an achievable goal for me so my plan is to run 212 and do the other 1000 through walking, biking, and the elliptical.  Physical therapy is going to start me on the bike pretty soon and I will start logging my miles as soon as they do!  I will be using dailymile.com to keep up with my totals.  It is an awesome program and makes charting your progress so easy.  As I progress in this leg of my journey, I will adjust my running goal up or down as necessary.

Please be assured that this is not a goal resulting out of the trials of this year but a continuation of an existing goal.  For me this goal has even more meaning then it did originally. I have to make a choice each day to withdraw from living and live in pain and be angry and confused or to keep moving ahead and keep healing.  I have a choice to dwell in my uncertainties or be daily present like Glen was and enjoy the blessings and goals I have for myself. Back in July I wanted a better version of me, I wanted to discover the me that was still uncharted…and then I ran.  So in 2012 I will keep running.

6 Responses to “2012 -Towards healing, peace, and wellness”

  1. Mary Greenway January 2, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    You are truly amazing. Cheering and praying for you all the way!

  2. Sarah Kiesche January 2, 2012 at 9:37 pm #

    Sandy you have always inspired me. I’ve seen how far you’ve run since first meeting you. I sit here and think if my own fitness goals and then I read your blog. What excuse do I have? I will be right here with you lady, if you need a partner or a cheerleader you just let me know!

  3. Kylie January 2, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    You go girl!!!! What amazing goals to strive for and such a positive attitude. You have the greatest man who is still backing you up!!! So looking forward to running across that finish line with you!
    Kylie

  4. The Background Story January 3, 2012 at 4:48 am #

    I am not running away from anything, not avoiding my life or my reality, but running towards something. Towards healing, towards peace, towards wellness.

    I love this. I’ve said this before, but I just want to say again how your strength inspires me, who happens to be a complete stranger on the other side of the world. I’m cheering you on! (=

  5. Dena Willis January 3, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I’m inspired by you daily. I love you and started to run again this morning! Thinking and praying for you daily. Lots of hugs and kisses – Dena

  6. Caroline Hatty Martin January 7, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    YES SANDRA! Love you so much and I’m so inspired by you. I will be cheering and praying for you, and hopefully logging some of my own miles this year. You are amazing. Thank you for your words. xoxo

Leave a Reply

