Day 91 – Perfect Fall day and the 50 burpees in 50 days challenge!

16 Oct

Yesterday I ran the Candler Park 5K.  Going into this run, I was really not feeling well and was totally exhausted.  My eyes in the pictures confirm this! 🙂 I swear they were open! I was really working hard to convince myself that I could run the whole race.  My goal is always to pace myself appropriately so that I run the whole course and do not have to walk at all.  I have been doing fine with this but on my run earlier in the week I had to walk because of my chest cold.   The first 5 minutes of the race were the very hardest for me because my lungs began burning the minute I started running.  Of the three 5K’s I have run so far, this was by far the hardest! Very hilly and very windy. The view while running though was wonderful, through the park and surrounding neighborhoods. I love this area because it reminds me of where I grew up!

I was running with my friend Kristin which always helps with the motivation factor.  Although we were not by each other the whole race, we ended up crossing the finish line together which was perfect.  We ran it in 30:24 which surprised me given the difficulty of the course and my chest cold.  I realized the importance of training either with an incline when on the treadmill or practicing on hilly courses.  Also, the importance of training through a cold when possible, because you never know what will be going on with your body on race day.

My kids came to the race with me again which is quickly becoming my favorite part of these races! I love that they are being exposed  to different places, people, and experiences.  Now obviously I can’t just let my 2 and 6 year old fend for themselvs while I run, so I am lucky to have my Aunt Margot come along and share in the fun of these races and hang out with kids while I hit the pavement. I am so blessed to have such supportive and encouraging people surrounding me!

This week I have really been feeling like I hit a plateau so I have decided to do a challenge posted on a fitness page I follow on facebook.  The Facebook page is called MyFitness Motivation and the challenge is 50 burpees a day, for 50 days! Now if you have never heard of a burpee, don’t worry, neither had I.  In fact, it reminds me so much of slurpee from 7-11 that I am craving one now!  Here is a picture of how to do a burpee.    When you are in the down position you can add a push up.  I will not be starting with those but will be working up to them! The 50 days run from October 17th until December 5th.  I will be starting with doing them in sets of 10 throughout the day and working up to doing them all at the same time.  I will keep you posted on my results. Wish  me luck. 🙂

One Response to “Day 91 – Perfect Fall day and the 50 burpees in 50 days challenge!”

  1. MyFitness Motivation October 16, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    So cool Sandra! Great job on the 5k – I really think you are doing fantastic with your running! I’m glad you are going to join the Burpee challenge! I didn’t know what they were either until last week…..and, actually, I joined the challenge before I even found out. Yikes! But I did 50 today just to make sure I was even capable of it before the challenge starts. I didn’t do them straight in a row though. I did 10 min bike/10 burpees x 5 so the entire thing took me over an hour. But now I at least know that I CAN do 50 in a day so I am actually excited for tomorrow. Craziness – I know!!

Leave a Reply

