Day 86 – hard work ain’t cute! :o)

11 Oct

My training schedule is a off this week because of taking time off for my shoulder and the 5K I have coming up on Saturday.  I went to do 4 miles on Monday but because of a light mist and a cold/cough, I quickly decided that 3 miles was enough. I ran 3 miles in 34:25 because I had to add in a few short walks.

Today was my 2 mile + strength day.  On these days, I like to push myself as hard as I can pace wise.  Through some new fitness friends/mentors I have been learning so much about the different types of training you can do for running.  I am definitely training for distance as opposed to speed.  However, on these 2 mile days I push as hard as possible so my body works outside of it’s “pace” once a week.  Today I ran on the treadmill because of the rain.

2 miles = 17:08!

This is definitely my fastest 2 mile time to date – 8:34/mile. I wish I could say that I was just cruising through this pace with ease but I was not. I was working – hard! I love to run these 2 mile runs because it allows me to really push my hardest.  At my 10:00/mile pace, I am working but I am comfortable.  At this pace, I am pushing, and let me tell you, it ain’t pretty! 🙂 Just to prove this fact, I took a charming picture of myself when I was done! I ALWAYS get a red face when I run and this red face typically lasts for a few hours.  And although you can see that a little in this picture, in real life this was multiplied by about 10!  I am pointing all of this out to say that although it gets easier, pushing yourself is never easy.  Today at the gym I know people were probably worrying I was about to pass out based on the color in my face, but internally I was doing just fine. Although it has always made me nuts that my face goes to shades of scarlet, at least I know it is from hard work!

 

Day 86 advice = Push yourself, even when you look crazy doing it! 🙂

One Response to “Day 86 – hard work ain’t cute! :o)”

  1. MyFitness Motivation October 12, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Way to go! That is so awesome! I turn really, really red when I run too! When I run over lunch – especially when I am running outdoors in the noon summer heat in WI – everyone can tell as soon as I get back to the office…..you ran today, didn’t you? Ha! Yes, yes I did.

    This is such a great idea – I look forward to seeing more and am so glad to have you as a new fitness friend! Keep pushing! : ) As you build confidence of what you can do on those 2 mile runs, you’ll notice your distance pace picking up too. I am not yet a distance runner (I’ve been running about 4 years and generally do 5ks) but I will be doing a 1/2 marathon in spring….I don’t know which one yet but I am done saying “I would like to” and I am changing it to “I am going to”. : )

Leave a Reply

