Day 76 – 4 Miles and still smiling!

1 Oct

 I lost some steam in the last couple of weeks and felt like I was kind of plateauing. I was discussing this with Glen when he said to me, “you are doing the work but not really changing your eating very much.” Needless to say, I did not really like the comment and replied with “I don’t want to change my eating.” He followed it up with “you are in training, babe. You are not just working out. You are in training. For a half marathon.  If you want to see results and feel better, you need to eat better.” (silence) Me – “bah, why did you have to point that out?” 🙂 So I guess the time has come and I can no longer ignore my eating habits. I really do not eat horribly, I just don’t really eat foods that are good for fuel and I don’t eat consistently so my goal over the next month is to really pay attention to my eating.  The raw fruit and vegetable detox did help me notice a lot of my eating habits so now i just need to utilize the information.  If I want my body to run a half marathon, I have to give it the right food.Feeling inspired by our talk, I had a healthy lunch so I could run my 4 miles later in the day.  I had already clocked a course earlier in the day so I was set to go.  I had to remind myself not to be discouraged by the idea of 4 miles.  2 months ago, 4 miles would have been unrealistic, but now it is an achievable goal and I don’t want to be psyched out by the number.

I took off and was shocked by what a great run I had. I definitely began to feel it on the last mile but I was able to complete the run without stopping!

4 miles = 45:48

I have never ever run for that long of a time and I am thrilled with my first 4 mile run. Here is the 10K training schedule I am following.  It is Hal Higdon’s 10K Novice training schedule.  I make sure to always do all of the runs and then try to fit whatever else in that I can. I am in week 3, so I have 5 more weeks until my 10K on November 5th.  After successfully completing 4 miles today, I actually feel like I am going to be able to run the 10K.  I am very excited!

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
Stretch & strength
2.5 m run
30 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
40 min cross
3 m run
2
Stretch & strength
2.5 m run
30 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
40 min cross
3.5 m run
3
Stretch & strength
2.5 m run
35 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
50 min cross
4 m run
4
Stretch & strength
3 m run
35 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
50 min cross
4 m run
5
Stretch & strength
3 m run
40 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
60 min cross
4.5 m run
6
Stretch & strength
3 m run
40 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
60 min cross
5 m run
7
Stretch & strength
3 m run
45 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
60 min cross
5.5 m run
8
Stretch & strength
3 m run
30 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
Rest
10-K Race
Leave a Reply

