Day 70 – Under 30 minutes!

25 Sep

Yesterday was a day that I will remember forever.  Although I had a great time at the Kaiser Permanente run, this experience was completely different.  The race was the Be the Match, Be the One race which supports the national marrow donor registry. The race is a fundraiser for the program so I decided to participate because I am a registered donor.  There were many people there who were either survivors or were running in memory of someone who passed away.  The event was very family friendly so we all got to participate!

I have to first say that I have the most amazing husband in the world who was willing to wake up at 6:00 on a Saturday morning to make this day possible. We got the kids dressed and were on our way.  I ran in the 5K, Glen accompanied Alana in the 1K, and Cameron ran the 25 yard tot trot! The kids were very proud of themselves.  Here they are after getting their numbers.

I took off first for the 5K and was pleased when I got to the 1 mile marker in 8:21 because there were no major hills.  After seeing this I was really hoping to break 30  minutes, a goal I did not think would be possible. During mile 2, I definitely struggled more as the hills increased and right at the 2 mile marker was the largest hill of the course and I definitely felt it!!  I made it through the course without walking and noticed that I was passing people who earlier passed me and were now walking.  There is definitely something to be said about pacing yourself to run the whole race and not get burnt out.  The race had an awesome finish line set-up and soon after hitting the 3 mile marker you could hear the crowd cheering you on to the finish.  It is a huge motivator and I knew I was so close to making 30 minutes that I ran my heart out at the end.  By my watch, I made it across the finish at 30:15 which I was super happy about.  That was 3 and a 1/2 minutes faster than my first race. A great accomplishment. I was on cloud nine when we went to watch my little boy run his first race.  He did so awesome! Here he is stretching with big sister before the race started.

I didn’t get to see Alana run, but Glen said she did awesome as well and the course was actually pretty hard.  I was a very proud mommy yesterday.

As if that was not all enough, I checked the official times last night and my official time was 29:58!!!!!!!!!! I made it in under 30 minutes (even if it was only by 2 seconds). 🙂

Overall, it was an incredible day and I continue to be motivated by my friends, family, and others around me. I have a vision of what I want to accomplish and each step along the way gets me closer to the me I see.  This experience has been an incredible blessing with benefits both mentally and physically.  I am looking forward to my fist 4 mile run next Saturday!

Leave a Reply

