Day 50 – 2 Days til 5K!

6 Sep

Tonight was my last run before my first 5K! It seems surreal that I am actually going to do this.  I have wanted to run one for so long and honestly never imagined myself being  able to do it.  I am so excited! 🙂 I set my ultimate goal pretty high but each of these goals along the way are huge victories.

Because of weather, my last 2 runs were inside on the treadmill instead of outside as I had planned.  On Saturday I ran 3.1 miles for the first time! 

3.1 = 31:04

Today I ran 3.1 again and tried to push the time a little because although I was ecstatic to run 3.1 the previous time, I really felt I could do a bit better.

3.1 = 29:42

Although it was only about a minute faster, it put me under 30 minutes on the treadmill which makes me more hopeful of finishing the race under 36:00.  Also I continued running past the 3.1 but decided to stop after a couple of minutes because I didn’t want to push too hard.  It is amazing to me the different paces that people run on the treadmill at the gym (and if you are wondering, yes, I do look at people’s settings). 🙂 I ran this at a 6.3 average pace. I’ll see people running at an 8 who are just trotting along and think to myself, “I would be flying off the machine!” Then another day I will see someone running at a 4.8 and wonder how it is possible to run (not walk) at that pace because I wouldn’t be able to.  Ultimately it just further confirms that you are an individual as a runner.  You work at the pace that works for you and feels good to you.  Knowing what other people do is just for curiosity’s sake I guess.  And who knows maybe one day I will be flying at an 8.0 pace, but I feel confident I would need a safety harness!

Wish me luck…I will post results and pictures after the race!

Leave a Reply

