Day 44 – Holy intervals!

30 Aug

Today I decided I wanted to start doing some interval training on my inbetween days.  Now before I started this whole running thing I had an idea of what this meant but no idea of how to put it into practice.  The basic idea is that you run short intervals at a faster than normal pace to teach your muscles that they can! Once you get settled in a pace, you can get pretty comfy there and you will never get any faster if you don’t push yourself to get faster.  Reminds me of what my parents used to say to me when I was younger, “if you always do what you’ve always done, then you’ll always get what you’ve always got.”   I ran 1 mile to warm up and then did another mile with intervals.   I did the interval mile anywhere from a 2.0-4.0 incline.  Because I was on a treadmill, I did timed intervals, running about 45 seconds at 7.2 and then 1:30 minutes walking, back to 7.2, then walking, etc etc.  The intervals actaully got easier towards the end although I have to admit that one time I almost bit it big time!!!  I don’t know if anyone saw but coming out of one of the intervals, I lost my footing and almost went flying off the treadmill! I almost hurt myself pretty bad, so lesson learned there, be carfeul with your footing.

Day 44 advice: You can always push  more, you can always get better. Just be careful doing it 😉

Leave a Reply

