Day 42 – 11 Days until my first 5K!

28 Aug

I’m almost there! Only 11 more days until my first 5K.  I have been dreaming about running a 5K since my Freshman year at WMU when I volunteered for the Campus Classic on Homecoming day.  I volunteered every year for the next 4 years and loved it but I was always wondering in the back of my head why I didn’t just sign up and run. After graduation, life took over and I never took the time to accomplish the goal.  So now 12 years after volunteering for that first 5K, I am finally going to run in one!

I have definitely improved over the last several weeks but I am not quite there yet. Counting today I have five more times to run before the race so I want to make sure I make them worthwhile.   It is much easier to run in the morning, but this race begins at 7:00 at night. Therefore I am going to try to simulate the race by running outside and running at the same time of day.  Today was the first of the 5 runs until the race and I went running but didn’t clock the distance until afterwards. 

2.6 Miles = 29:25

Although I felt like I had run a little further distance wise I am still happy with this time considering the course was quite hilly.  I am looking forward to running with Glen sometime this week and think having someone with me will definitely help! Also I have to say that the number of people who read my blog, comment on it, are inspired/encouraged by it is an incredible motivator.  Thank you for reading and thank you for the encouragement and I am glad it has sparked other people to get training too!

Leave a Reply

