Day 17

3 Aug

Today was supposed to be a rest or cardio day.  But after a less than stellar afternoon I decided that I would swap with tomorrow and go for a run.  I went to the gym to do 2 miles and I am amazed I got through it again.  It seems incomprehensible to me that three weeks ago I was struggling to finish a mile.

Mile 1 = 9:52

2 Mile Total = 19:56

I am thrilled with this time and will continue to push myself.  I need to continue to increase my stamina so I can keep increasing the distance. Next week’s increase is another .25 of a mile to 2.25.  I love how the small gains in distance make each new goal feel attainable. I actually look forward to the new goals!

Now, I did get a MASSIVE cramp in my side while I was running and just kept running through it.  May not have been the best idea but I was determined to get done.  Does anyone have advice on what to do when you get a side cramp? I could not have gone for much longer with the cramp.

Tomorrow is an exhausting day because I meet all my new students, so may take the rest tomorrow and I am thrilled I have my massage tomorrow night.  I’m telling you massages are AMAZING!!!  I use massage envy and it is great.  Definitely a luxury, but at least I am paying a reasonable price.

 

2 Responses to “Day 17”

  1. Lisa August 3, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Hey Sandra! I am loving this blog and look forward to all your new entries! As far as running through cramps, you just stop and walk a bit. They are a sign of dehydration or fatigue, so walking and leaning to the side to stretch and having some water will do the trick. They will go away soon enough. Keep up the good work! I just signed up for two half marathons today and hope for you to join me at some point!

    Lisa Perron

    • Sandra June August 3, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      I’m guessing it was dehydration for me, I will have to stop next time I just wanted to finish so bad. I am trying REALLY hard to drink enough water but I am not the greatest at it. I would love to do a half marathon with you one day and thanks for the support and advice!!!!

Leave a Reply

